Una Semana Más

Leave a comment

May 18, 2013 by cmcguigan91

Just a quick update before I get back to studying:

Last weekend I went to Cádiz with my program for a beach vacation! Cádiz is a city located on the coast of southern Spain, about a 4 hour bus ride from Granada. On the way there we stopped at El Torcal de Antequera, a natural park. It’s a “karst landscape” made of limestone, and the way the rocks have formed is beautiful!

El Torcal

El Torcal

In Cádiz, we went to our (four star!) hotel. My friend Cara and I had a room overlooking the ocean, which was right across the street! The weekend was perfect beach weather, and the water was the perfect temperature. We went on a few tours around the historical part of the city, and went to the Tavira Tower, where we viewed the city using the cámara oscura. We tanned and swam all day. There were children running around, vendors selling soda and cervezas, and topless women everywhere. In the evening we played around in the sand and watched the most beautiful sunset.

Cádiz

Cádiz

Cádiz

View from the Tavira Tower

Beautiful Coast

Beautiful Coast

Amigas

Amigas

Puesta del Sol

Puesta del Sol

After we got back from Cádiz, the next week flew by! My last day of classes was Thursday, and this coming week I have finals. I’m spending my last week soaking up as much of Granada as I can (and studying, of course).

Arab Markets

Arab Markets

Music in the Albaicin

Music in the Albaicín

Parque Carmen de los Mártires

Parque Carmen de los Mártires

Tea

Tea

The Best Gelato in Granada

The Best Gelato in Granada

We had our API farewell dinner, and I am so grateful that I have met so many amazing people. I will definitely miss my directors here, who have been one of the many reasons Granada has become my home. These girls (and many others) have made this experience incredible, and I’ll miss them so much!

IMG_0797

IMG_0795

I can’t believe there’s less than a week left. I know I will definitely be back here someday, and the things I have seen and learned will stay in my heart forever.

Parque García Lorca

Parque García Lorca

Leave a Reply

