Un Poco De Todo

Leave a comment

April 22, 2013 by cmcguigan91

I have done so much in the past few months that I haven’t written about, so here’s a little bit of everything!

1. Planted Trees

My program, API, does an “API Gives Back” day every semester. For my group, we went up to Generalife, which is the gardens and land surrounding the Alhambra, and planted trees. The view was beautiful and it was a fun morning spent with friends!

Planting Trees

Planting Trees

2. Fiesta de Primavera

The Fiesta de Primavera is a celebration of the arrival of spring. Basically, all the young people of Granada go to the botellón (a place where people congregate outside to drink) and party all afternoon and night! Apparently there were over 20,000 people there… wow!

Fiesta de Primavera

Fiesta de Primavera

3. Intercambio

I have had a few intercambios, or language exchanges, since coming to Granada. I met Carmen through my school, and she has become a good friend! She helps me practice my Spanish, and she is absolutely the sweetest! This is a picture of us at a concert she brought me too where her friend was playing.

Carmen and I

Carmen and I

4. Flamenco

API brought us to a cueva in Sacromonte to enjoy a Flamenco show! We sat in a cave and the gypsies performed- it was amazing to watch.

Flamenco

Flamenco

5. Fútbol

My friend Cara and I went to a Granada soccer game! It was raining but it was fun to watch! Granada tied 1-1 with Levante. We sat next to this old man who was getting really into the game… we learned some new vocab we probably shouldn’t use around our host families!

Granada CF

Granada CF

6. Monachil

Monachil is a pueblo close to Granada with a great hike called Los Cahorros. It winds through waterfalls and across hanging bridges. The scenery was so beautiful and we enjoyed a gorgeous day adventuring.

Los Cahorros

Los Cahorros

6. Almuñécar

Almuñécar is a beach on Costa Tropical. I went for a beach day with friends and enjoyed tanning in the sun!

Almuñécar

Almuñécar

7. Nerja

A few friends and I took a day trip to Nerja. We explored the caves, walked around the town, had the most amazing all-you-can-eat paella, and laid in the sun!

Nerja Caves

Nerja Caves

Nerja Beach

Nerja Beach

Sangria and All-you-can-eat Paella!

Sangria and Paella!

8. Las Alpujarras

I went on a hike with API through the Alpujarras, a region in Andalucia. There are many villages in the mountains, and we hiked through a few before stopping for a typical meal and of course ice cream.

Hiking Through Las Alpujarras

Hiking Through Las Alpujarras

Migas con Jamón y Melón

Migas con Jamón y Melón

9. Cathedral

I decided that it was probably time for me to see the Catedral de Granada, considering I live here and all. It was built by Queen Isabella where a Mosque used to be. It has many different styles of architecture and is grandiose and beautiful!

6744_10151339766115666_1965334467_n

Granada Cathedral

Granada Cathedral

Granada Cathedral

10. Exploring Granada!

A lot of my time is spent walking around the city. There are so many different parts of the city, from the river to the parks to the Albaicín. The street art here is amazing too! There is always something happening in the city, and I love running into random art fairs in a plaza or stopping and watching the street musicians play. The famous Granada gelato shop has opened for the summer, so of course I’ve been there as well!

Enjoying Water from the Sierra Nevada

Enjoying Water from the Sierra Nevada

525371_10151340376855666_410479163_n

“Cansado de no encontrar respuestas decidí cambiar mis preguntas”

 

Leave a Reply

