Change

1

April 22, 2013 by cmcguigan91

I haven’t blogged in a while and I was thinking about what to say when I realized I haven’t written about a major thing- I’ve moved!!! My last living situation just wasn’t right for me, and thanks to the two most amazing program directors, I was able to move out and start again!

I’m calling this Granada, Part Two.

I am now living in an apartment building in the very center of Granada, with 11 other students. My roommates are 6 Spanish guys, 3 Spanish girls, and 2 American girls. The Spaniards are mostly first year students at the University of Granada, and the other Americans are from my program. The family that owns the apartment lives downstairs.

IMG_0007

The Common Room

It is a completely different way of living! I have my own room, for the first time in my life! Meals are provided every day except Sunday. We eat breakfast and dinner here, and for lunch we walk to a dorm down the street. Being in the center, the apartment is close to everything! When I am bored, I walk around the busy streets, buy a bag of dried fruit from a street vendor, and sit in a plaza listening to the street musicians play.

IMG_0008

My Room

The best part of the house is the terrace! I love sitting on the roof reading or tanning or chatting with friends! The weather here has been amazing the past week, and I spend as much time as I can outside in the sun.

The Terrace

The Terrace

It was hard adjusting at first. The Spaniards that live here are very used to their way of living, and didn’t really reach out to me. So, I had to get rid of all my shyness and really force myself in. The language barrier makes it hard. When they talk to each other, it is so fast I have no chance of understanding or joining in. Sometimes I will single someone out and make them talk slower for me, but it’s difficult!

I have good moments though- after a few days of inviting myself to lunch with them, they finally knocked on my door and invited me! They help me with my Spanish homework, and I know that if I keep trying I will improve.

I feel like I have been able to experience the best of both worlds. I love where I am right now, and can’t wait to make the most of this last month!!

View from the Terrace

View from the Terrace

Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.

(side note: these pictures were taken with my new camera! por fin!)

 

One thought on “Change

  1. Laura says:

    love, love, love
    Thank you for sharing all of this, everything, with your mother who loves you!!!

Leave a Reply

