Paris

Leave a comment

April 11, 2013 by cmcguigan91

Last weekend I went to Paris to meet up with some friends from home!!! Taylor is studying there for the semester, Michelle is in London, and Shami is in Oxford. We planned this a while ago, and as it got closer I couldn’t believe it. We were all going to Paris!!

My adventure started with lots of travel. Bus to Malaga, plane to Paris, and then the most crowded train of my life to the center of Paris. I was traveling by myself, I had no phone, and I don’t speak a single word of French, but I managed to make it. Many people in Paris speak English, so I was lucky, although the rude Parisian stereotype definitely held true.

I finally got to the apartment we rented for the weekend and met up with my friends! Our apartment was a bit far from the center of Paris but was next to the metro so we could easily get where we wanted to go. We decided to walk around and explore some of Paris, with Taylor as our wonderful guide. We saw some pretty buildings, listened to a street performer, and did some window shopping. We went to Galeries Lafayette, which is a huge department store with a terrace on the roof where you can see the whole city. Then, we met up with our friend Kathryn from UMass and her friends for dinner! I tried duck, and it was yummy!

Galeries Lafayette

Galeries Lafayette

First Sighting!

First Sighting!

Next up: Eiffel Tower. We saw it from a distance first, and it is truly an amazing structure. As we got closer, it loomed over us, still as beautiful. It is such a unique shape and size, and walking underneath it was so cool. We walked around the area until it got dark, and then watched it light up! I never knew it did that, but it sparkles for a few minutes every hour at night and it is quite the sight! Of course, on our way back home we had to stop for crepes! I got one with chocolate and bananas. My mouth is watering now just thinking about it.

Tour Eiffel

Tour Eiffel

Tour Eiffel

Tour Eiffel

Around this time, my camera broke. I was taking pictures of the Eiffel Tower and I dropped it, and it stood no chance… I hope I can get it fixed in Spain! I don’t know how to travel without it! (I apologize for the lack of pictures in this post, I stole them from Shami!)

The next morning we climbed to the stop of Notre Dame (soooo many stairs) to see a view of the city. After, Taylor brought us to her favorite crepe place. I had a egg, ham, and cheese crepe for lunch, and a salted toffee crepe for dessert. They were both amazing! After lunch we walked to Sacré-Coeur, a beautiful basilica at the top of Montmartre. We walked through a plaza filled with artists, and their work was incredible! When I’m older I want my house to be full of street art from all different places.

Notre Dame Gargoyles

Notre Dame Gargoyles

Sacré-Coeur

Sacré-Coeur

We explored Paris some more, and that night we cooked a dinner and drank some wine while catching up. All of us are having such different experiences, and it’s amazing to talk about what we’ve been doing.

The next day we went to the Louvre, which was incredible! A lot of museums are free in Paris on the first Sunday of the month, so there were tons of people. Thankfully we had Taylor to guide us through to all her favorite art. Or course we saw the Mona Lisa, and also Venus de Milo, Winged Victory of Samothrace (Nike), and Liberty Leading the PeopleEveryone talks about how small the Mona Lisa is, so it was actually bigger than I expected!

Shami and Michelle in front of the Louvre

Shami and Michelle in front of the Louvre

There she is!

There she is!

Nike

Nike

We walked down the Seine, and stopped to check out Pont de l’Archeveche- or “Love Lock” bridge. It was a beautiful day, and of course we stopped for another crepe for lunch. This time I got nutella, banana, and coconut… it was amazing! We walked back down the river, and sat in a beautiful park for a while, soaking up the sun. We walked down ChampsÉlysées, and finally made it to the Arc de Triomphe, a monument that was built to honor fallen soldiers, and contains the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. The Paris Marathon had ended about that time, so the area was filled with people. We finally made it to the metro and Michelle and Shami left to go back to London and I went with Taylor to her house!

Nutella, Banana, Coconut Crepe... Heavenly

Nutella, Banana, Coconut Crepe… Heavenly

Pont de l'Archeveche

Pont de l’Archeveche

SItting in the Sun

SItting in the Sun

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Taylor lives with a host mother and roommate, and her “mom” was kind enough to let me stay for a night! I was there for family dinner, and I Taylor’s mom cooked one of the best meals I’ve ever had. First course was crepes filled with potatoes, egg, eggplant, and ham, followed by a salad and cheese course, and then dessert- chocolate filled crepe. I didn’t want to be rude by not eating everything, so by the time we finished I thought I was about to explode!

The next day Taylor had to go to a museum for class in the morning, so I went to Notre Dame to see inside the cathedral. It was pretty- I’ve seen so many cathedrals they’re almost starting to not impress me anymore! After, I met back up with Taylor and we went to eat- I had snails! They had a pesto sauce on them and tasted good- but they’re not really something I would want to eat every day, you know? Then Taylor had to go to class so I sat in a cafe for a while, then took a bus to the airport. It’s funny how things work out sometimes- on the I met someone who is studying in Granada also and she offered to give me a ride home! I gladly accepted, since otherwise I would have had to wait 5 hours for my bus!

Friends :)

Friends 🙂

A weekend full of crepes, friends, and beautiful Paris adventures. Fantastique!

(Photo cred to Shami, thank you!!!)

Leave a Reply

